Tags

, , , ,

Last year my New Year resolutions included things like hiking a slot canyon or taking a river trip. (I am glad there aren’t any rules about what we set for resolutions, because I’m all for enjoying what we determine to do.) However, since I didn’t run the river, hike the canyon or do many of the things I intended, it does not mean the year was a loss. Many of those I’ll just roll over for this year, but more as good intentions than R E S O L U T I O N S. My goodness, the very word seems to ring through the HALLS of TIME. “Be it resolved. . .” You know, that type of historical burden.

At any rate, I’m rethinking my resolutions this year. A resolution to do something I’ve never done before (like hang-gliding off a cliff) might be adjusted to doing something I might or might not have done before, but this time share it with somebody else (like taking my children on a hike through a river).

Regarding resolutions in general, there is something cleansing about the idea of dumping old bad habits and cultivating new ones. That’s why people resolve to lose weight, quit smoking, or run / bike / swim a triathlon. They are looking to improve their lives with a healthier body. Every January I attempt my favorite fast, known to many as the lemonade fast. One year I fasted for 21 days. (I was young and gullible.) This year, my goal is three days. Maybe I’m succumbing to weaknesses, but I prefer to call it moderation.

Like fasting, I’ve decided to take this year’s resolution “cleanse” in moderation. Instead of resolving to give up sugar for a year (a sure set up for failure), I might set the goal of cutting back my sugar to none before breakfast. I won’t be running a marathon, choke, choke, choke, but I do try to run two miles almost every day, or every other day, or when there’s an eclipse. I might resolve to work up to three or four miles. See? Moderation.

I do intend to climb a mountain so that I can write my name in the book at the top with my impressively advanced age beside it. There are various other good things I intend to do, such as call my daughter more, and look for opportunities to let my daughter-in-law know how valuable she is to me, and make sure my husband always has freshly ironed and starched shirts in his closet. And if I miss a week, a day, or etc. I won’t hang my head in shame, slip into a coma of depression and eat a bag of cookies. (Unless they’re Milano’s—then maybe ½ a bag. But not before breakfast.) And I will say: Tomorrow I start again.

I think the idea is that we keep trying to move forward and to bless the lives of others. For that reason I’m thankful for New Year resolutions. It’s like a yearly reminder that we can be better than we are.

