Tags

, , , ,

“I’m packing you your extra pair of shoes, and your angry eyes, just in case.”

I don’t know why I keep getting hits to my blog for Mr. Potato Head. Last year sometime I posted everything anyone would ever want to read about potatoes, (after all I grew up in Idaho). There were potato stories, jokes, and other antidotes. The puzzling thing is that it continues to get regular (and frequent) hits. Now it’s not just the potatoes, it’s mostly Mr. and Mrs. Potato Head that the searches are looking for. Sadly, that post only featured them in a picture.

The fact that I get any hits is puzzling because Wikipedia (which comes up as the number one article in a search on Yahoo) has pretty much everything about those celebrities that I neglected to put. In other words, everything.

I remember as a child sticking plastic facial parts into potatoes from the basement storage. (It’s an Idaho thing—we had enough potatoes to feed a family of eleven nearly every supper through the winter.) But then I read that in 1964 the government said there had to be a plastic body for the parts to go into. Now that either infers I am older than I am ready to admit, or we just used the parts in potatoes anyway as the original game intended. Yeah, that’s it.

Anyway, this post is for all those who keep getting my blog when they are really looking for so much more. Besides the all encompassing Wikipedia link above, here are some more you might enjoy:

Playskool (manufacture)
Collector’s page Facts,
Discussion Forum and Encyclopedia
And last, but not least, click here for the hilarious clip from the Toy Story 2 outtakes.

By the Way, in 1985, there were 4 write in votes for Mr. Potato Head in an election for mayor in Boise. That’s the capital of Idaho, of course.

