Tags

, , ,

How do you get through life when it crashes against you like a tsunami? Big time scary events that threaten to change lives, security and sanity? We all go through scary or painful times sooner or later, but when they happen, the temptation to hide under a bed is great. Here is how I face the big ones:

1. First and foremost, my faith, and the things I can resort to because of that, gets me through. Recently, during such a challenge, after days of prayers and such, we heard people say to us, “I’m going to try to pull off a miracle for you,” and other such words of encouragement. Faith leads to hope and with hope we can get through anything.
2. Resist the urge to stop. This means, resist crawling under the bed (or into bed), gorging on chocolate and drowning in a romance novel. Life will not get better, we’ll just come out of our sugar coma with more problems—extra pounds, breakouts, and the need for a shower.
3. Do something. Even when nothing we can do will solve the problem, we can exercise, clean house, and make something. I took down my snow men accents and stashed away the red pillows, vases and table runner of winter. Then I got out the greens and blue of spring. I felt better just seeing changes around me.
4. Do something for somebody else. Comfort those in need of comfort, or simply make cookies, watch their children, or send a thank you note.
5. Don’t become a blubbering mess. I was once promised that I would be able to face the trials of life with poise and confidence. I think this confidence comes from knowing God loves me. “Fear not: for they that be with us are more than they that be with them” (II Kings 6:16).
6. Stay Positive. Don’t become an added burden to those who are also facing this trial with you. Smile. Open the blinds and let the sunshine in. Serve salad with fruit—it’s light and bright.
7. Ask for help. It was amazing the resources that became available and the friend that would say, “I know someone. . .” time and again. From Florida to New York, this man had connections.
8. Expect miracles.
9. Write it down. Someday, you’ll be grateful you can look back and read about the difficult time, and how you got through it.
10. Give Thanks. To everyone, and especially to God. Kneel down and give thanks every hour.

