Tags

, , , ,

With the latest terrible events playing out in Japan and other places, many of us are thinking about basic survival needs. My daughter-in-law is storing water. Neighbors are rotating food packs. I’ll be dragging out my-kit-is-bigger-than-your-kit to sort through it with the intent of removing some weight.

I have considered the things I do everyday, and eliminated the activities I could survive without. The camp stove, tourniquets and dry socks are now unnecessary. I include on my new list only those things that are essential to sustain life. Here it is:

  • Water purifier / cup
  • Trail mix
  • Laptop
  • Portable solar panels

 OK, I confess, I added a couple of items. I call it the deluxe version. It now includes:

  • Swiss army knife
  • Duct tape       (These two are because I’m a believer in MacGyverisms)
  • 2 band aids
  • T.P.

What’s in your kit?

