Tags

, , , , ,

 The Event this weekend has many scrambling on both sides of the pond to view the proceedings, if not in person, then via live broadcasts. Alarms are set and various details are prepared from biscuits to hats so that viewers can indulge in the atmosphere of the occasion. I was amused to read that prospective guests were given 22 page guides on the dos and don’ts of attending. The guide book covered everything from how to address a royal to how to hold a tea cup.

One columnist wrote: “If you ever get to meet the Queen or a member of the royal family (Her Majesty gets about a fair bit so you may bump into her during her many walkabouts at Windsor), address her as ‘Your Majesty’ then ‘Ma’am.’ Never show the Queen your back, wait for her to leave the room before doing so yourself, and if you have gloves on, remove them. Never touch the royals and only extend your hand for a handshake to reciprocate theirs. Although the rules of curtsying are relaxed in today’s age (it is no longer imperative), it is seen as a sign of respect. . . .The correct way, should you be so inclined, would be to place your right foot behind your left foot, lightly bend both knees, then stand back upright to uncross your legs.”

Good to know, right?

I have to say though, that the fuss over hats has reminded me of a sub-plot in Go Dog Go. “Do you like my hat?”

All this pomp and celebration led me to think that a little formal etiquette is good. It’s nice to be able to show respect to others by putting our best foot forward. In a world so relaxed that designer jeans became a fashion statement, it’s refreshing to see a multitude of people dressed up. Someone once suggested, “If you go to a wedding, honor the bride and groom and dress appropriately, even if you are only ‘popping by’ to congratulate them at the reception later.”

There has been a definite trend lately to more conservative dress. Business men are putting suits and ties back on for day to day work and ‘casual Fridays’ are becoming less common. I like this trend. I think a man in a suit is very attractive, and women in dresses are much more professional than in slacks.

I don’t work outside my home, and many days are spent casually, but never in sweats or sloppy t-shirts. I think we have more energy to give when we like the person we see in the mirror. I’m not so Stepford Wifey as to suggest wearing heels and pearls to vacuum and bake in. However, when I take time to get “fixed up,” I feel better about myself and therefore, I get more done.

This Friday, I may not tune in to The Event (gasp), but then again, I just may sit down with scones and jam on a porcelain plate and pretend I am in Westminster Abby. Maybe I’ll even stand and ‘bob’ before Her Majesty, but I’ve got to get a hat.

