Tags

, , , ,

I wanted to be a pencil protester. Seriously. But then I admitted it’s just too much bother. I reconsidered in less than 5 seconds. Now I am completely dependent on my keyboard and monitor.

With just my computer, yesterday I took a ride through my home town using Google Earth, did a search for a mayonnaise recipe, searched the settlers of Franklin Idaho, looked at the artist sketch of the face lift planned for a temple in Ogden, read through two email accounts, and nearly a dozen other things. Sometimes I worry that I’m too attached to technology—some days, literally, as hours go by and I’m still at my computer. (I also worked on my manuscript and read over 50 pages of the book I’ll be reviewing soon. All via my hard drive.)

If there were a major power failure, I’m afraid I’d get the shakes.

It is days like that when I HAVE to get outside. So in addition to a morning break to go weeding, I took my bowl and sat on the top step of my front porch while I ate my supper. The colors after yesterday’s rain were clear and bright; the mountains with their snowy tops and low hanging clouds were breath taking. My ground cover (Vinca minor) has spread purple flowers by the millions beneath the small groves of trees and the Magic Carpet spireas are leafing in the rich shades of their namesake. In another month, my lavender will bloom.

I am constantly astounded by what technology can do: People can use a handheld device to take a sharp picture, listen to any music they want, read a book, search the internet, send messages and even make a phone call if they actually want to talk. They can travel home from the far reaches of the world in less than a day (going seems to take longer because they fly against the path of the sun), do a week’s worth of laundry without getting their hands in water and bake a potato in 4 minutes.

But technology doesn’t generate the awe that God’s creations do.

So sometime, corral your whole family onto your front porch (or back patio) for supper. Look out over the housetops, imagine what the clouds look like, and just talk. And add gratitude for a dishwasher to the prayer.

Watch this video about appreciating the technology we have. It is for anyone who has ever sat on a seat in the sky. I wanted to embed it, but my tech guy was gone, so I’m linking you to YouTube.
(BTW, I know what a rotary dial phone is–and the last four digits of our family’s number back then were 0999. Now I understand how comitted people had to be to give us a call.)

