Tags

I’m a mountain person. I love looking toward the horizon and seeing them. I love how they draw my eyes upward with  promises.

One time I visited a Japanese garden just beyond our hotel in the middle of Tokyo. I looked over the green barrier of the shrubbery to the steel and glass vertical city mountains just beyond. The view confused me. When I lived in Texas, I loved the people and the adventure, but I felt lost in a land without mountains rising on the horizon.

I took the pictures below “out my backdoor.” They are my view north, east and south. To the west is a mound called West Mountain. Somebody from “back east” must have named it. I prefer to think of it as the “hill to the west.” (Actually I don’t think of it much.) I didn’t take its picture.

He climbed cathedral mountains, he saw silver clouds below
He saw everything as far as you can see

Rocky Mountain High
–John Denver

I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help. My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth. –Psalm 121:1

What’s out your backdoor?

