Tags

, , , , ,

This time of year is wonderful for remembering all the things we are thankful for. And I am thankful for my family, friends, and other blessings that truly humble me. However, I am also thankful for a couple of simple items that I often take for granted. Such as:

Three particular keys on my computer keyboard: delete, backspace and end. I remember the days when I wrote everything by longhand, filling notebooks with stories, reports, or journal entries. Computers make writing so much simpler, and for me, these three keys sure get used often. You’ll never know all that I’ve deleted just from this post.

Clothespins. I haven’t hung clothes on a line in a couple of decades or more, but I can still remember playing among the flapping sheets that my grandmother hung up (before she ironed them). I have clothes pins and line tucked away for “just in case,” but in the meantime, I also keep some in a drawer in my kitchen. They work great on bags of chips, or frozen peas, or any food item that didn’t come in a resealable bag (and some that do, but I inadvertently open the wrong end), while being much more economical than commercial clips designed for the same task. I use them to hang up skirts, and my granddaughter thinks it’s funny to pull clothespins off of her clothes after “papa” clips one onto her.

My electric toothbrush. Except when it tickles my nose.

Umbrellas. Sunday morning I was reminded of how wonderful they are as I took a walk in the warm, early light while white clouds hung heavy on the mountains and a light shower tripped on puddles. I love my umbrella. I love that it reminds me of the Philippines where I bought it. I love that it’s not black. And I love walking in the rain.

What are you thankful for today?

