Tags

, ,

Yesterday morning (5:40 a.m.) I was driving to arrive someplace 25 minutes away, hoping to be there by 6:00. And then a car pulled in front of me and drove 25-27 miles per hour on a stretch of two lane country road that is posted at 50. What’s a girl with a hemi to do? I found my old faithful car can still go from 27 to 70+ in uder 5 seconds. (I immediately slowed down after getting back in the correct lane—promise.)

But I did break two laws: I crossed a double line because the oncoming cars were spaced so that it was “now or never,” and I went much too fast (but not by plan—it just happened.) Sometimes doing the wrong thing seems like a good idea.

And sometimes doing the right thing is hard.

Sometimes we live in denial of it for so long, shutting away the tugs of conscience to the point that they are justified away. We all have “that” weakness that we know isn’t quite right, but we continue to resist, especially when making the change to do the “right” thing requires a painful or inconvenient adjustment.

When I was young, my legs often hurt at night. The doctor told my mom they were “growing pains.” The result? I have long legs, so maybe he was right. But I thought I’d seen the last of such “growing pains.” Not true. But the growth comes nevertheless. And peace.

Still, there is a side of me that wants to throw caution to the wind and drive with the hemi wide open.

Okay, one more, related, but unrelated story:

Once my son, who was at a stop light, witnessed a car rear-end someone and then take off. The light changed and he caught up to the hit-and-run driver, while calling 911. The guilty driver took a left at the next intersection and ended up on the same country road I was on this morning. My son was still with them, but concerned at the speeds they were doing. He had given the dispatcher the information: type and color of car and location, but expressed his concern about staying with them. The dispatcher asked, “What are you driving?” He replied, “A Mustang.” The dispatcher chuckled, “Well, then you shouldn’t have a problem keeping up.”

