Tags

, , ,

One summer, in anticipation of a vacation toSeattle, my DH ran into a store to pick up some last minute supplies. While he was gone, my children and I attempted to tighten the straps that added security to the carrier on top of our minivan. My young son and I struggled with the ratchet mechanism, trying to figure out how it worked, when we heard a voice behind us say, “I’d be glad to help.”

We stepped aside as a lean, weathered farmer untangled what we’d created and deftly threaded the straps through the metal teeth. He repositioned where the straps looped over the car rack and the carrier, then showed us a better way of attaching them and winding up the excess. “I work with these all the time on my ranch,” he explained.

When the man finished, I felt gratitude was inadequate. As I stumbled through an offer of compensation, he just grinned and said, “Just pass it on.”  And with that he waved and walked back across the parking lot to his truck.

Today is the last day of the Random Acts of Kindness blog hop. I have appreciated all the comments that told of experiences with RAK. I hope you get a moment to read them; when I shared some with my DH, he replied, “wow.”

To me, random acts of kindness are not planned. They happen when we are aware of others and in their moment of need, set aside our schedules to step up and offer whatever we can to assist.

Diane Hopkins, in her post “Something Little,” wrote:

“Just think!  If everyone just did something, no matter how small, what a enormous wave of good works it would create.  If we all followed through on even 1/10th of our good intentions, it would transform our neighborhood, church or community. When I was a young mother, we lived inHolland.  The Dutch housewives would come out in the mornings and wash their porches with a mop and a bucket of suds. They had a saying: “If each wife washes her own porch, the whole world will be clean”. How true! Each of us doing something small would have a tremendous effect!”

And if we take a moment to rush over and wash the porch of an ailing neighbor’s first, think how wonderful the world would be.

I hope we all continue to watch for opportunities for random acts of kindness, and when someone says “thank you,” to reply, “Just pass it on.”

