Tags

, , , ,

Monday night we hosted a group of about 18 Single Young Adults for a “Family Home Evening.” Because of logistics, we have found that a game of Jeopardy works well. They enjoy themselves and we work in some serious conversations. And some that are not. Like the category Rebus. Those are puzzles formed by words that they have to decipher, like this one:

T M
A U
H S
W T *

My DH built the game using Microsoft PowerPoint (His puzzle is better spaced). He connected his laptop to the TV on the wall so that everyone could see (we utilized every available chair, including the bench from the entry and the stools from the kitchen counter). The game is just cool—red boxes lined up in the categories and each showed the point value until clicked on, then the answer filled the screen. Clicked again and the question was revealed (I know that sounds backwards, but remember it’s Jeopardy). Another click and the main screen came back and that box faded away, no longer available. Can you tell I’m always impressed?

BTW, there are also two hidden “Dayley Doubles.”

So one of the “fun” categories was “Who Knew?” There we departed from the game format a bit. The answers were designed for the young adults to get to know each other better, such as “This is something I have done.” The person who selected the answer then chose the designated number of participants from the other team to answer (one person for 200, three for 600, etc.—each correct answer being worth 200 points). That person told an experience and the person who chose them decided if they were telling the truth or not. (Does this mean we encouraged dishonesty? Hmmm.) There have been some amusing moments. And some head-scratching ones.

From, “This is a characteristic I want in a spouse,” one young man insisted that he preferred a girl who did not want carpet in their house. “Deal breaker?” “Could be.”

I’m in no position to censure.

On the wall of the family room where I grew up, my parents lined up pictures of their nine children. Next to each of our pictures was a frame where a spouse’s picture would go one day. In that frame we placed a list of qualities we hoped for in a spouse. Some of them were basic: good with children, sense of humor, etc. Some were more customized.

My brother wanted a spouse that could “make a mean glass of lemonade.” (Not diluted too much.)

The last on my list was, “Will send me flowers.”

One evening my date returned me home and I invited him in to watch Abbot and Costello (something we’d “discovered”). When I left the room, he went over to read the frames on the wall.

And you guessed it: the very next day, I received flowers. It was the first time someone had flowers delivered to me.

Yes, he got his picture in the frame next to mine.

*In case you’re still stewing, the answer to the rebus puzzle is: What goes up, Must come(s) down

