After his business became a casualty to this economic depression, my DH began his third life as a broker. (Not our first course change.) He figures God wanted him in this position so that he could better understand what was needed for our years ahead. Considering what is currently in our savings, investments, and retirement accounts, he won’t be retiring anytime soon. In fact, our best bet is that our house is hit by an errant missile (while we’re asleep, please), putting us out of our misery. Well, maybe it’s not that dismal, but it’s not brilliant either.

My sister commented to me recently, “Nobody our age is going to retire. Too many have lost jobs, businesses, homes, and all their investments.” Yep, this boat is not empty. And it’s got a big leak.

After cumulative talks with DH about options (focusing on what I can contribute), I found myself walking in a dark cloud with no desire to do anything but watch mind-numbing teen flicks. DH consoled, “It’s a sad reality, that’s why you’re sad.” He’s been phoning me on all his breaks to see how I’m doing. I assured him that I may be sad and mournful as I recognize what I will have to give up so I can make room (time wise) for something else, but I am moving forward.

I’ll cry later.

As will others.

A beautiful young lady is getting married in my backyard this weekend. Her parents were given a couple of weeks to prepare for this. It’s not the usual reason, I think she was just tired of being told she had to wait. It’s like an elopement, but with family. Her mother has been in a whirlwind of shopping, planning, planting (their backyard is where there will be a reception and dance), and a zillion other things that three months would be difficult to pull off, let alone two weeks.

My cousin’s daughter, her husband and brand new baby are packing up, renting their house, and moving in with her folks (six hours away). After he was severely debilitated by a stroke (or something) that has left him with little control on one side of his body and less on the other, their lives changed. A month later, their child was born.

Hundreds of homes were lost this spring / summer to the wildfires of the west. People I know lost homes or the homes of their childhood. Some were able to grab what mattered most: pictures, hard-drives, histories, and such. Some were not.

Whether with long term changes or short term disruptions, we all face a time when life executes a back flip. It’s enough to tempt us to watch teen flicks and eat cookie dough until we become unrecognizable and start saying “like” too often. But back flips don’t “undo,” and reality must be faced. We really have only one option: We adjust and go forward.

Putting it off does not improve the outcome. So today I tested the waters and started my resume. Tomorrow I’ll check out more options. Sometimes we accept the changes of life gladly and with anticipation. And sometimes not.

Like cookie dough is going to like hurt me if I only eat it like once a day.

