Tags

, , , , ,

texting-cartoon1I had a conversation yesterday with two other ladies that discussed new technology in schools. One lady’s ten year old daughter did all her homework on-line, all communications from the teacher were posted on line, and the class had classroom blogs. A few concerns were raised, especially since not only did the teacher not post as thoroughly as was desired, but this mother was not a person who went on the web often. She doesn’t have a Facebook account, rarely sends email other than to her college sons, and didn’t know what Twitter was. Whether you admire her disconnect (as I do) or not, the fact remains: this is the future. We may choose to opt out of it, but our children are opting in. Big time.

The other mother told how her teen daughters hand in their electronic devises at the end of the day and the parents, since they are responsible parents, check the messages and histories. Some may see this as an invasion of privacy. Where do you stand?

I am really old. When I was young, our phone connected to the base by a cord and was in the kitchen. Phone conversations were not private. However, I don’t see much difference between texting, and passing notes (except our notes had more freedom for adding illustrations). However, texting reaches beyond the physical locality.

I recently had a texted conversation with my daughter. In it I expressed my reaction to something with a smiley face icon that was simply eyes—just two dots. No mouth etc. I told her I wasn’t sure what it was expressing, but I loved it and rarely had the opportunity to use it.

So is technology heading a good direction? Are our children losing social skills? Should schools still teach cursive? Do we accept it, adjust, take the good and walk away from the bad, or is it all taking far too much of our time? And what in the world is the face with just eyes saying anyway?

