Tags

, , ,

 

fog 1For several days now, fog has cloaked the mornings. Where I drop my DH off, is a hallow and the fog was particularly dense, so that when I drove away, I couldn’t see more than fifteen feet in front of the car. For that stretch of the road leading from the group of office buildings, after eight o’clock, I was alone with no indication that there was a world beyond my car. It was a very lonely moment.

Even on the freeway, where visibility was better, street lamps emerged, first as light clusters, like hovering UFOs, until poles attached themselves and passed by to disappear behind. The world shrank. Only those immediately around were visible:  five or six vehicles travelling together into the white cloud that always stayed ahead. It was as if nobody really moved, we were caught in that space and everything else had vanished. It would be a great set-up for a Twilight Zone episode.

I became more aware of my fellow travelers, more conscious that they too had places to be, places they had left behind, and people they cared about. I looked past windows at their faces. For awhile, having my world condensed into a small group, took away the disconnect I usually allow with strangers.

It struck me that our relationships are a deliberate choice of who we bring into our area of awareness as we move each day toward the unknown. Family, friends, coworkers, and neighbors. Who enters that zone fluctuates, but the choice is often ours. It is not as random as travelling down the freeway in the fog, but just as intimate. What is sad is when a cherished friend is allowed to fall behind. Busy schedules, other relationships, and deadlines interfere and we allow them to be forgotten.

I appreciate technology that lets me text my children, receive an email from my dad, or connect with a neighbor to get a recipe on FB. It seems that personal conversations are becoming more difficult to have as we have different schedules, but the conversations that I nurture are the ones that endure. We’re all travelling in the fog—it’s so much better when we don’t travel alone.

