Tags

, ,

photo (8)I am doing my final read of the typeset pages that my editor is sending in batches of 100 pages or so. There are things that it’s too late to do much about, and scenes I would like to rewrite, but at some point I have to let go. An author is never satisfied.
Still, here’s an example of one piece I’d love to change, but won’t. When my protagonist’s name changed to Kennady, the explanation of where it came from was a bit uninspired. I needed something in a hurry and didn’t have fun with it. Also, if it were up to me, I wouldn’t mention the names of the twins here, but my editor felt enough readers needed the clarification. Who doesn’t get it?
In a conversation with Atticus: (A. as is and B. as it could have been.)
A.
“So, where does Kennady come from?”
“From a stranger. My mom was talking to a lady who showed her a picture of her baby daughter, Kennady. The child was so gorgeous my mom decided right then that her daughter would be named Kennady. Now the twins are another story.”
“Okay, tell.”
She actually blushed. Her feet swung in the air before her, and her hair fell forward to cover her face. She said quickly, “my dad is a bit of an old-school Star Wars aficionado.”
“Oh, no, not Luke and Leia.”
“Yep.”
B.
“So, where does Kennady come from?”
“My grandmother led a double life. Her alias on missions for SD6 was often Kennady Fitzgerald. Now, the twins are another story.”
“Okay, tell.”
She actually blushed. Her feet swung in the air before her, and her hair fell forward to cover her face. She said quickly, “My dad is a bit of an old-school Star Wars aficionado.”
“Oh, no, not . . .

Her head dropped further. “Yep.”

