Tags

, , ,

ebooksI was reading a book by a fellow author [details below], and about a of third the way in (this is hard for me to estimate as I was reading it on a kindle app) a song became key to a couple of scenes. By the third scene when the protagonist searched for the lyrics on the computer, I was curious too. But the words were not given (at least not yet). I thought, “How cool would it be if I could just link to the song?” As I navigated away from the story and began a search to satisfy my curiosity– Whamo! I recognized the power of what I had created.
An interactive ebook is not a new concept, but it is still rare. I’d venture to say that Cold Pursuit will be the first mystery (and romance) with on-line links. You can link to music and download it if you like it, link to an image that is a key in the mystery, link to other images, recipes, and so forth. I’d venture to guess that this is the future of stories. Soon it will be common place. And guess who’s going to benefit?
The author? Not really. In fact, it’s more work. The publisher? Same as author. Amazon? Yes, but not until the concept really catches on. The greatest beneficiary is the reader! You won’t have to click on a link, but if you are curious, like I was when I read my friend’s book, then the link is right there. Easy as, well, touching the screen.

