Tags

, , , , ,

tight_rope_walker_530wThere are some things you shouldn’t do when you’re tired. Like drive a car, cross a tight rope between tall buildings, or give an interview. Recently I did an interview with one eye half open and the other shut. I finished late and sent it off. Two days later when it went live I realized how I’d goofed. Hate it when that happens.

For instance, I hadn’t explained the random links well enough and merely mentioned that they were some of my favorite things. Well not quite.

Like after that one question I didn’t have a good answer for. I mentioned that I didn’t care if it was skipped, and subconsciously protesting, I gave it a link to bugs. Then I forgot about it, dismissing it because I was sure it would be dropped.

You know the concept of some things being left on the cutting room floor? Not always true.

CicadaTo clarify: bugs are not a favorite thing for me. Not even close. I’d take them over snakes, and possibly walking on a rope 300 feet in the air, but not much else. In fact, if given the choice between bugs crawling on me or the rope thing, I’d probably give the later a go. Just thinking about bugs makes my nose itch. Then the back of my neck. and it just gets worse.

Monday in class my instructor showed a video she claimed was “beautiful.” “Return of the cicadas.” I didn’t make it thirty seconds into the film before my nose needed rubbing. I stared at the floor as nonchalantly as I could and hoped my professor didn’t notice that I didn’t appreciate her “lovely story.” Once I made the mistake of looking up in time to see a creature with red candy eyes stuck in his shell and dying painfully. Oh that helped.

You realize that just writing about it my nose is now red.

They say that cockroaches could survive even a nuclear blast. Fine with me as long as I don’t.

[After the video, our professor suggested that we face the fear that comes from hard questions, such as “What if this life is only like that of a cicada–birth, live, reproduce, die?” She expounded on this theme after previously criticizing “creation theories”. I was tired of her ridiculing my beliefs every class and insisting that people of intelligence “reason” rather than “blindly follow their faith,” etc. I was also feeling snarky. So after she threw out several of these “scary” questions “that we all should be mature enough to face,” I offered, “Or the scary question for the atheist to face, ‘What if there really is a God?”–see, snarky.]

