Tags

,

thCAH4PWWAMy DH and I don’t get to many movies. It’s a time thing, and the matter of content. When we do go, we usually travel an extra 20 minutes to a newer theater with stadium seating and the latest in sound, etc. Well last Friday, after an exhausting week, we decided to go to the local theater to grab a show, which we’d been hoping to see. I should have known that the smudged and sticky machine where we purchased tickets was a foreshadowing of what was to come.

We found a couple of seats on a row squeezed in the center. Seriously, it was tight on the leg room. I felt like the people in front of me could hear the low conversation of the row behind me. I was feeling a bit claustrophobic, but it was the smell that drove me batty. Every once in a while I’d get a strong whiff of menthol. There were no previews, and when the pre-show ads began recycling, I suddenly stood up. “I can’t do this. Can we move?”

We moved up two rows. The theater was filling up, but that row was unseated. For good reason. My chair nearly fell out beneath me. And the menthol returned. It must have been someone in the row behind us (that used to be in front of us before we moved). We moved to the end of the row—but again, another broken seat. I stood in the aisle, unsure whether to laugh or slink away totally embarrassed. I convinced myself nobody there would know us and we chose a row across the aisle.

Again, the menthol smell! “It must be this theater!” I whispered to DH. I explained the smell issue.

Suddenly he colored. “I put some rub on because I have a sore muscle,” he explained.

I wish I’d known that before I gave up our first seats because, yes, my latest seat was broken again. And the guy in front of me was tall. We moved one last time—nearly to the wall. And this time we stayed. Even though my feet stuck to the floor. When I got home I just wanted a shower. (BTW, somebody’s baby cried through most of the show until it fell asleep exhausted. Poor child. Bad daddy.)

We decided the movie was not worth the effort and next time we will rent a movie and stay home.

But we got a good laugh after wards when we discussed moving around a theater, trying to escape a smell that kept following me.

