Tags

, , , ,

Easter is coming! And that means . . . why a centerpiece of course.

Seriously, who doesn’t love Spring Baskets and the treasure hunts we make for our (grand)children? I love planting flowers and peas and dividing strawberries—okay, maybe not the last one, but I love eating the results in a couple of months. And don’t you love seeing flowers spring from bulbs around your yard and blossoms on the apple and cherry trees? Yep, good things.

I’m hosting Easter Dinner this year. My daughter-in-law is bringing the ham—Einstein went to the butcher a couple of months ago. She’s very practical about this. My son refused to get to know him because he knew he would later eat him. When I visit her she shows me the calf she’s feeding that will be exchanged for a beef calf when this one is weaned. And the chicken named “Dinner” that is on “death row.” However that event is not certain because a rooster has taken a liking to her. I love how she is so connected with life.

Anywho, today I planted wheat for my centerpiece. I’ll let you know how it turns out. (I do have a back-up plan.) It took all of 10 minutes for this project, including moving ladders in the garage to get to the potting soil. So easy.

I soaked the wheat over night. The trays are from the dollar store.

I soaked the wheat over night. The trays are from the dollar store.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I ended up using some dry wheat to fill in the gaps.

I ended up using some dry wheat to fill in the gaps.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

More soil, water, and a sunny window. Fingers crossed.

More soil, water, and a sunny window. Fingers crossed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I'm also working on some miniature gardens for the patio. :-)

I’m also working on some miniature gardens for the patio. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I took three evenings to cut out the butterflies. (A punch would speed this up). I hope to attach them to picks and stick them in the grass.

5

My china has a lot of blue and pink. It works for Easter.

My china has a lot of blue and pink. It works for Easter.

 

