Tags

, ,

My house sits on a regular-sized, neighborhood lot. It’s measured in square feet, not acres. Yet, Saturday, for one couple, it held the universe.

My son’s wife’s sister was married here. A small, intimate gathering of family, the bestman and bridesmaids. She was beautiful in a cream-colored lace dress with a high-low hem. He wore a brown tux. Afterwards, they went to her parent’s home for a reception and dance. There, everyone they knew came to congratulate them. We were the oasis before the chaos. It was nice.

I have wonderful neighbors. I posted on our community FB page a simple “help” and they brought me chairs. Because of the hot weather this past week, I also received a white canopy, though we didn’t set it up. Three other canopies had been offered.

Storm clouds hung heavy, but no down pour–mostly just a refreshingly cool day. We had a few sprinkles, but the ceremony proceeded. Our daughter-in-law took pictures with her fancy-dance lense. It still amuses me though to see how many phones emerged. Technology changes so much.